Now that you’ve set up your first wave of Settings, let’s help you differentiate the level of access you want your employees to have. Or perhaps you want to contract out your tasks to someone else? Cinch is here for you to be able to protect your customers and who has the rights to control those aspects. Let’s create your first round of roles for your users.
Cinch always provides the Administrator role for your company, but beyond that the rest of your employee’s experience is up to you. If you don’t mind every marketing employee associated with Cinch having full access to your company, you don’t have to create secondary roles. But most companies will want a variety of roles for different tiers of marketing officers. Let’s walk through it.
To begin, select the ‘+’ symbol on the top right corner of the Roles page. This page will only be available to view by those roles with access to it, such as the Administrator role. Any changes made to a role will impact the users who have that role immediately. Those users will have to reload their pages to see the changes for themselves. Please consider this as you make your changes. Any users that are affected by these changes should be told to save any work they are doing within Cinch before you make any changes. Let’s go over all of the permissions options that you will see when you create your first Role.
The permissions listed interact with one another intrinsically. Just playing around, you’ll be affecting changes on other permissions through a few of the permissions. These permissions with overlapping effects are marked with an asterisk to warn you that you are making changes to more than just one of the fields.
This entire screen is short, sweet and to the point. There is a title on top, and a description field below it for when you want more detailed information. Each permission has three settings. None is the automatic selection, and the category will not be displayed to the user if selected to None. As a cautionary note, the only menu that a user with none for all permissions can see is the Company menu. Each user must be able to select which company they are working within, and we always start all users on the Company page.
The View selection gives a user view permission for that menu. This does not give them the power to do anything but filter the information and view it. Customer Journeys can be viewed in their entirety, but the user cannot make changes to them. They can see the drafts, the history, and all of the customer information without having the critical power to update them. Some permissions in Cinch will require other associated permissions in order to have any sort of ability to properly understand how it all correlates together.
We will explain the details of what each layer of permission is allowed to see. The Company page gives you the ability to view all companies your user can access. Giving view access also gives a user basic view access to Journeys as well. Giving a user Manage controls for Companies will allow them to see almost every other aspect of the company and manage company details. Giving someone manage access to Company/Data Fields does not give intrinsic access to controlling the Users or Roles page. You will need to manually make that change for the other fields. At no point does giving manage access to one of these fields give manage access to any other fields.
The Users and Roles pages are intrinsically linked. Giving view access to one also gives view access to the other. Giving them manage powers does not change this dynamic. But this only gives a user the ability to see which users have which roles, and which companies they are part of. Though, the only companies that will be listed will be those shared between the users with access to the User tab and the Users they are looking at.
The Journeys permission is tied to the Broadcasts, Two Way Messaging, Segments, Templates, Locations, Web Forms, Phone Numbers, Customers/Transactions and Integrations pages. That’s most of the Cinch product, and it matters. You can’t form a journey without all of these elements. That doesn’t change for view or Manage permissions, either. Giving a user view or manage permissions to Journeys will also give access to those other menus. You may manually disable that access after you set Journey access, but it is recommended that you allow your users the ability to view the elements that make your journeys successful.
The only other menu that has permissions connected to it inherently is two-way messaging, which requires the phone numbers page.